<July 2014>
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
293012345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829303112
3456789
- select events
Friday, July 25
Friday Fest
Main Campus, 9:30 AM
Monday, July 28
Umoja University on Campus
Main Campus, Various , 8:00 AM
Tuesday, July 29
Undergraduate: Last day to withdraw from Summer II classes
Wednesday, July 30
Men's Soccer Host Summer ID Camp
Soccer Field, West Campus Field, 10:00 AM
Thursday, July 31
Graduate: Last day to withdraw from Summer II classes
Friday, August 1
Friday Fest
Main Campus, 9:30 AM
Friday, August 8
Friday Fest
Main Campus, 9:30 AM
Sunday, August 17
ELS Move-In
Priory Campus, WID, 11:00 AM
Monday, August 18
New ELS Session Starts
Priory Campus, 250, 8:30 AM
Friday, August 22
Welcome Weekend 2014
Main Campus, Various, 12:00 AM
Saturday, August 23
Welcome Weekend 2014
Main Campus, Various, 12:00 AM
Sunday, August 24
DU Fest 2014
Main Campus, Quad, 3:00 PM
Wednesday, September 10
Community-based Learning Expo
Parmer Hall, Atrium, 10:30 AM
Sunday, September 14
Remembrance Mass
Lewis Hall, Rosary Chapel, 11:00 AM
Wednesday, September 17
Poster Sale
Mazzuchelli Hall, Social Hall, 9:00 AM
Thursday, September 18
"God and the Violence Against Women in the Bible"
Priory Campus, Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Saturday, September 20
Tommy Emmanuel
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Tuesday, September 23
2014 Caritas Veritas Symposium
Main Campus, Various, 8:00 AM
Sunday, September 28
Symphony OPRF - Picture This Concert
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 4:00 PM
Tuesday, September 30
Siena Center Lecture: Gregory Boyle
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Siena Center Lecture: The Power of Boundless Compassion
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Wednesday, October 1
McCusker Lecture: Howard Besser
Fine Arts Building, Martin Recital Hall, 6:00 PM
Tuesday, October 7
Study Abroad Open House
Lewis Hall, Lewis Alcove, 9:30 AM
Wednesday, October 8
Study Abroad Open House
Parmer Hall, Atrium, 9:30 AM
Tuesday, October 14
Siena Center Presentation: Still Point Theater
Fine Arts Building, Martin Recital Hall, 7:00 PM
Siena Center Presents "Living Water"
Fine Arts Building, Martin Recital Hall, 7:00 PM
Saturday, October 18
President's Signature Concert: Kathy Mattea
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Thursday, October 23
Siena Center Lecture by Bob Calin-Jagermen
Priory Campus, Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Sunday, November 2
Memorial Mass
Lewis Hall, Rosary Chapel, 8:30 AM
Wednesday, November 5
Founder's Day
Coughlin Hall, Various , 12:00 AM
Mazzuchelli Lecture
Lewis Hall, Rosary Chapel, 4:30 PM
Mazzuchelli Lecture: Tina Taylor-Ritzler
Mazzuchelli Hall, Rosary Chapel, 5:00 PM
Friday, November 14
"Our Town"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Saturday, November 15
"Our Town"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Sunday, November 16
"Our Town"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 3:00 PM
Sunday, November 23
Symphony OPRF - Symphonic Splendor
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 4:00 PM
Tuesday, December 2
Lessons and Carols
Mazzuchelli Hall, Rosary Chapel, 5:00 PM
Saturday, December 6
Rockapella
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Thursday, January 15
Siena Center Lecture: Mary Gerhart
Priory Campus, Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Wednesday, January 21
School Bus Show on Campus
Fine Arts Building, West Campus Parking Lot, 8:00 AM
Saturday, January 24
Yuval Ron Ensemble
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Tuesday, February 10
Siena Center Lecture: Amy-Jill Levine
Priory Campus, Priory Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Friday, February 13
"In the Heat of the Night"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Sunday, February 15
Symphony OPRF Love Unrequited Concert
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 4:00 PM
Thursday, February 26
"Almost, Maine" Preview
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Friday, February 27
"Almost, Maine"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Saturday, February 28
"Almost, Maine"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Sunday, March 1
Last Performance of "Almost, Maine"
Fine Arts Building, Lund Auditorium, 3:00 PM
Tuesday, March 3
Siena Center Lecture: Donald Senior
Priory Campus, Priory Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Saturday, March 14
Benefit Concert
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 5:00 PM
Thursday, March 19
Bill Jenkins Discusses Healing for Victims of Trauma
Priory Campus, Priory Auditorium, 7:00 PM
Friday, April 10
25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Saturday, April 11
25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Lund Auditorium, Performing Arts Center, 7:30 PM
Sunday, April 12
25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 3:00 PM
Friday, April 17
25th Annual Putnam 0County Spelling Bee
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Saturday, April 18
25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Sunday, April 19
25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 3:00 PM
Friday, April 24
Rani Arbo & daisy mayhem
Performing Arts Center, Lund Auditorium, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, April 29
St. Catherine of Siena Lecture
Priory Campus, Auditorium, 7:00 PM
BA in Legal Studies Program Ranked 15th in Country
Dominican University’s Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies Degree Program has been ranked 15th in the country by TheBestSchools.org, a leading resource for prospective students seeking a college or university degree. Read more...
Students
Dining Services Special Hours & Locations: July 14 to July 25
July 14 - Mazzuchelli Hall - 11:00 AM
Enjoy some of your "Grab and Go" favorites at the Cyber Café while the Main Dining Hall serves up "All You Care to Eat" Lunch and/or Dinner. Read more...
North Avenue (IL-64) Bridge Replacement Project
Bridge Replacement Project at North Ave (IL-64) and the Des Plaines River starts - road closures and reroutes will likely cause delays to your commute to campus.  Read more...
Friday Fest
July 25 - Main Campus - 9:30 AM
Friday Fest is an event held four times over the summer for prospective students to visit campus and learn what Dominican is all about. Read more...
Faculty & Staff
David Perry writes op-ed piece on undocumented students
David Perry, associate professor of history, wrote an opinion piece in the Chronicle of Higher Education on Catholic colleges' support of undocumented students. Read more...
College recruiter credits Jon Tomaso for mentorship
In an article in the Journal of College Admission, a college recruiter from one of Dominican's competing schools credits Jon Tomaso for helping him succeed.  Read more...
CarrieLynn Reinhard quoted in USA Today on legacy of Blair Witch Project
CarrieLynn Reinhard, assistant professor of communications, was used as a resource on the 15th anniversary of the horror movie, The Blair Witch Project. Read more...
Professor Invited to Historic Presidential Inauguration
Christina Perez, associate professor of sociology, director of the study of women and gender and interim chief diversity officer, was invited to and attended the inauguration of the new President of El Salvador. Read more...
Library Receives Created Equal Grant from NEH
The Rebecca Crown Library has been awarded a Created Equal grant through the National Endowment of Humanities and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.  Read more...
Umoja University on Campus
July 28 - Main Campus Various - 8:00 AM
High school principals, teachers and administrators from some of the nation's most innovative high schools are on campus for Umoja University at Dominican University. Read more...
Mission & Ministry
Faculty and staff represent DU at biennial Dominican Colloquium
Ten DU faculty and staff attended the 13th Biennial Colloquium of Dominican Colleges and Universities at Molloy College Read more...
Join the Student Leadership and Ministry team
Applications from freshmen and transfer students for the Student Leadership and Ministry team for 2014-15 are now being accepted! Read more...
Recordings of Past Siena Center Events Available Online
An archive of recordings many of past Siena Center events is available online for viewing anytime. Read more...
Performing Arts
Actor's Garden on Campus This Summer
Popular Oak Park children's theater program the Actor's Garden will again make its home for the summer in the Dominican University Fine Arts Building. Read more...
Sports
Star Honored With NFCA All-Region Award
Find out which Dominican Star was honored with the NFCA's All-Region Award Read more...
Men's Soccer Host Summer ID Camp
July 30 - Soccer Field West Campus Field - 10:00 AM
The DU men's soccer team will host a one-day ID camp for high-school aged male prospects on Wednesday, July 30.  Read more...
Dominican A-Z